Skip to main content

WR122 -Couch: Practice Exercise

Practice Following Citations

Use Library Search to find this article:

Kraushaar, James M., and Novak, David C. "Examining the Affects of Student Multitasking with Laptops During the Lecture. (Report)." Journal of Information Systems Education 21.2 (2010): 241. Web.

  1. Copy the Title
  2. Go to the Library Home Page and use the Library Search
  3. Follow the links to full text in Academic One File
  4. Collect the Subject Terms and add them to your Search Vocabulary List (continue to collect search terms as you go)
  5. Scroll to Reference/Work Cited list
  6. Track down sources from the Reference List by copying the title and pasting into the Library Search (group activity)

Laptops in the Classroom

Search for each of the sources listed below. Use Library Search at http://librarysearch.chemeketa.edu, Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com or any other search tool of your choice.  Be prepared to answer these questions.

  • Did you find the source?
  • Is it available in full text online?
  • What is it? A book, article or something else?
  • How did you find it? What search techniques did you use? Which search tool did you use? 

 

  1. Adams, Dennis. (2006), "Wireless Laptops in the Classroom (and the Sesame Street Syndrome.)", Communications of the ACM , Vol. 49, pp. 25-27.

  1. Anderson, L. W. and Krathwohl, D. (2001), A Taxonomy for Learning, Teaching, and Assessing: A Revision of Bloom's Taxonomy of Educational Objectives. Addison Wesley Longman, New York.

  1. Barkhuus, L. (2005), "Bring Your Own Laptop Unless You Want to Follow the Lecture." Proceedings of the 2005 International ACM SIGGROUP Conference on Supporting Group Work, November 6-9, pp. 140-143.

  2. Trimmel, M. and Bachmann, J. (2004), "Cognitive, Social, Motivational and Health Aspects of Students in Laptop Classrooms." Journal of Computer Assisted Learning, Vol. 20, pp. 151-158.

  3. Weaver, B.E. and Nilson, L.B. (2005), "Laptops in Class: What Are They Good For? What Can You Do with Them?" New Directions for Teaching and Learning, No. 101, pp. 3-13.

  1. Young, J. R. (2006), "The Fight for Classroom Attention: Professor vs. Laptop." Chronicle of Higher Education, Vol. 52, Issue 39, pp. A27-A29.

These citations are from 

Kraushaar, James M., and Novak, David C. "Examining the Affects of Student Multitasking with Laptops During the Lecture. (Report)." Journal of Information Systems Education 21.2 (2010): 241. Web.

Who is Clay Shirky?

Track down the following sources. All of these were written by Clay Shirky. 

For each, write down what it is and where you found it:

  • Why I just asked my students to put their laptops away
  • Here comes everybody: The power of organizing without organizations
  • Cognitive surplus: Creativity and generosity in a connected age
  • Netizens Unite
  • Newspapers and thinking the unthinkable
  • Gin, Television, and Cognitive Surplus

Troubleshooting Guide

Be persistent!

Here are a few possible scenarios with strategies for tracking down sources.

 

bullet indicating emphasisTip: logging into the search will show you Summit and interlibrary loan links to obtain items:

 

  • Search finds article with full text ► Follow View it links to database

  • Search finds article, but not full text Click the Get it link to see if we have the volume and issue you need in paper

  • Search finds article citation but not full text or paper journal Try Google or Google Scholar; sometimes we can find it on the web

  • Search finds article citation, no full text, not on Google Request from ILL* (automatic form, electronic fill in form, paper form)

  • You searched for an essay or book chapter, Search finds eBook Follow View it links and search contents of the book

  • You searched for an essay or book chapter, search finds paper book

    • Chemeketa has the book Find call number and find on shelf

    • Chemeketa doesn’t have the book Request via Summit or ILL forms

  • Search indicates full text, but the link to the database comes up empty Try searching directly in the database (the database may not understand the info sent by the library search)

  • Possible error in citation Google the citation or parts of the citation to verify  

  • Reference from a lecture, interview, or perhaps conference presentation:

    • Item is ephemeral, notes are not available or are in the possession of the author, such as personal interview notes, and are not available Contact the author

    • Notes may be available on website, perhaps of sponsoring organization in the event of a conference and sometimes for lectures

  • Item is a website or document on a website Visit the website and search for source content

  • You logged into library search, but don't see Summit or Interlibrary Loan links Check the top of the page; your name should show as Last name, First name. If you see your My Chemeketa login name instead, click Sign Out and log in again with your login name in all lowercase letters

  • You logged into library search, but don't see Summit or Interlibrary Loan links Check the top of the page; your name should show as Last name, First name. If it does and you still don't see request links, your search may have timed out. Click the Sign Out link and sign in again.

 *ILL=Interlibrary Loan

Chemeketa Community College Library | library.chemeketa.edu | 503.399.5231 | E-mail Reference Librarians