Index to approximately 10,000 periodicals covering a wide variety of subject areas, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles. Many are in full text. Includes full text of the New York Times from 1985. How to Use
A good, general-purpose periodical index. General Onefile includes more than 5,156 full-text titles; five newspaper indexes — a total of more than 9,200 titles in all. Also includes news items from 89 wire services, still images, video, and podcasts. How to Use
Please note: LexisNexis will no longer be available through the library after June 2018. LexisNexis Academic will no longer be available after May 2018. It is being replaced with a new interface at Nexis Uni. LexisNexis Academic Includes newspapers and news transcripts, business resources, biography, and legal resources. Click More for details. How to Use
LexisNexis Academic has over 6,000 publications. Full-text of over 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, including The New York Times, and The Washington Post; hundreds of other news publications; broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio networks; political transcripts covering Congressional committee hearings, press briefings from the State, Justice, and Defense departments, and presidential news conferences; wire services; surveys and polls from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.
Has business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and SEC filings.
Includes law reviews, state and federal statutes, codes, and regulations, case law, and other legal resources.
Please note: Nexis Uni will no longer be available through the library after June 2018. Nexis Uni is the new interface for LexisNexis Academic. Both interfaces will be available through May 2018. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types.
ProQuest Central searches for articles in more than forty subject area databases that include Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities content. Click on Databases (2) to select specific databases or subject areas to search within.
ScienceDirect now includes both the Health & Life Sciences and the Social & Behavioral Sciences collections. These collections offer access to full text of almost 2,000 journals relating to life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences broadly interpreted, including environmental science, agriculture, genetics, psychology, economics, human/computer interaction, and communication. Tip: On the Expert Search page check the boxes next to "Subscribed publications" & "Open access articles."
When Should I Use a Database?
Since Primo Library Search includes articles in its results, you may be wondering why you would bother to search in a journal article database. There are several reasons for using an individual database:
Noise - Say you're looking for information on zombies (computers that distribute spam) and you find articles on the walkingdead, philosophy, anthropology, and other subjects; using a database that specializes in computer literature lets you focus on your topic
Bells and Whistles - Some databases have specialized subject headings and powerful search features; most let you search within the full text of articles
Thoroughness - not all database articles are included in the library search, for technical reasons; Education Full Text and CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), some of LexisNexis Academic, and the databases on the Databases on the Web guide are not included in the Library Search