Skip to main content

WR121 Kelley: Using Library Databases to Find Articles

Try This...

  1. Go to the articles and database page
  2. Search for space exploration
  3. Narrow by subject on the right
  4. Click the title to see full text of the "article"
  5. Find the tool box, see the email option?
  6. Collect search terms as you go

NOW

  1. Go to the Articles and Database page
  2. Search for space exploration
  3. Explore the database interface, do you see the types of searches displayed on the right?
  4. Find one popular article
  5. Find one scholarly article and email it to michele.burke@chemeketa.edu
  6. Experiment with narrowing by subject on the right
  7. Click the title to see full text of the "article"
  8. Find the tool box, see the email option?
  9. Collect search terms as you go

 

When Should I Use a Database?

Since the basic library search includes articles in its results, you may be wondering why you would bother to search in a journal article database. There are several reasons for using an individual database:

  • Noise - Say you're looking for information on zombies (computers that distribute spam) and you find articles on the walking dead, philosophy, anthropology, and other subjects; using a database that specializes in computer literature lets you focus on your topic
  • Bells and Whistles - Some databases have specialized subject headings and powerful search features; most let you search within the full text of articles
  • Thoroughness - not all database articles are included in the library search, for technical reasons; Education Full Text and CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), some of LexisNexis Academic, and the databases on the Databases on the Web guide are not included in the Library Search 

Use Databases to Find Articles

Go to Articles & More: Database Pages for a list of all databases that Chemeketa subscribes to.  Recommended databases for research on literature topics are listed below.

Chemeketa Community College Library | library.chemeketa.edu | 503.399.5231 | E-mail Reference Librarians