Skip to main content
- Go to Literature Resource Center and do a "Person By or About" search for Bryan Stevenson.
- Limit Results by clicking on Stevenson, Bryan on the left.
- Explore the database results by clicking on the purple tabs and then clicking on the title links to see full text.
When Should I Use a Database?
Since the basic library search includes articles in its results, you may be wondering why you would bother to search in a journal article database. There are several reasons for using an individual database:
- Noise - Say you're looking for information on zombies (computers that distribute spam) and you find articles on the walking dead, philosophy, anthropology, and other subjects; using a database that specializes in computer literature lets you focus on your topic
- Bells and Whistles - Some databases have specialized subject headings and powerful search features; most let you search within the full text of articles
- Thoroughness - not all database articles are included in the library search, for technical reasons; Education Full Text and CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), some of LexisNexis Academic, and the databases on the Databases on the Web guide are not included in the Library Search
PowerSearch is not a database. It is a tool that searches many databases at the same time. It does not search in all library databases.
Use Databases to Find Articles
Go to Articles & More: Database Pages for a list of all databases that Chemeketa subscribes to. Recommended databases for research on literature topics are listed below.
Index to approximately 10,000 periodicals covering a wide variety of subject areas, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles. Many are in full text.
Artemis brings together the Gale literary resources from Literature Resource Center and Gale Virtual Reference.
Education Full Text
Education Full Text includes indexing and abstracts of more than 600 education periodicals (400 peer-reviewed). Full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996.
How to Use
JSTOR is a digital archive of journal content. Chemeketa has the archive collections Arts & Sciences I and Arts & Sciences III, comprising about 400 journals. The collections are strong in the humanities.
Literature Resource Center
Full-text critical essays and reviews, biographies of authors; overviews of frequently studied works; full-text poems, short stories and plays; Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature
; and more.
How To Use
Chemeketa Community College Library | library.chemeketa.edu | 503.399.5231 | E-mail Reference Librarians