Find Articles and Web Sites - CLA - Chicano/Latino Studies - LibraryGuides at Chemeketa Community College

When Should I Use a Database?

Since Primo Library Search includes articles in its results, you may be wondering why you would bother to search in a journal article database. There are several reasons for using an individual database:

Noise - Say you're looking for information on zombies (computers that distribute spam) and you find articles on the walking dead, philosophy, anthropology, and other subjects; using a database that specializes in computer literature lets you focus on your topic
Bells and Whistles - Some databases have specialized subject headings and powerful search features; most let you search within the full text of articles
Thoroughness - not all database articles are included in Primo Library Search, for technical reasons; Education Full Text and CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), many newspapers (including The Oregonian), most images, and the databases on the Databases on the Web guide are not included in the Library Search

Web Sites

The Bracero Project
Braceros Worker Images
Civil Rights Digital Library
Free online access to historical materials documenting the Civil Rights Movement in the United States. The Digital Library of Georgia is host to the collaborative project.
Digital Chicano Art
Educational Resources (Latinos in Heritage Conservation)
H-Borderlands
Originally a forum for scholars of the US-Mexico borderlands, it has grown to a wider community of researchers of continental and global border regions.
Hispanic Americans in Congress
A list maintained by the Library of Congress. Includes both historical and current members of Congress.
LANIC - Latin American Network Information Center
Latino Decisions
A political opinion research organization that conducts national polls of Latino voters.
Latino Stories.com
"The Credible Resource for Latino Literature, Latino Film, and Latino, Studies" offers resources for studying these cultural productions, as well as "best" lists.
Los Braceros
Smithsonian Latino Center
"Smithsonian Latino Center was created in 1997 to promote Latino presence within the Smithsonian." The Center promotes exhibits of Latino Culture and presents free events.
The U.S.-Mexican War - The Borderlands
UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center
Voces
An oral history project that focuses on "contributions of U.S. Latinos and Latinas of the WWII, Korean War and Vietnam War generations."

Use Databases to Find Articles

These databases may be used to find articles relating to your topic. All the electronic databases listed in this section may also be accessed by going to the library's Database Page. If you are accessing the databases from a computer not on the Chemeketa Community College network, you will need your My Chemeketa user name and password.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles from thousands of magazines, newspapers, and peer-reviewed journals. Includes the New York Times newspaper as far back as 1985.
How to Use
Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
Impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today. In English and Spanish. Noticias hispanoamericanas de 1704 hasta la actualidad. Hay articulos en ingles and en español
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
This database replaces Education Full Text with more full-text content and scholarly journals.

* HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) *
HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Scholarly "works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers in the disciplines of Anthropology (including Archaeology, Ethnohistory and Ethnology), Art, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, History, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology. Starting with Volume 54, the Handbook also includes a section on Electronic Resources for Latin American studies." Annotations (abstracts) are about a year behind. Does not include full text.

Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
Cómo usar
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of journal articles and images. Current articles are not available in JSTOR. Chemeketa subscribes to Arts & Sciences I and Arts & Sciences III collections for a total of about 400 journals.
JSTOR is providing free access to additional collections until June 30, 2023.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Current issues and archive of National Geographic magazine. Includes image and advertisement searching. Coverage: 1888 - present.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Includes articles in academic journals, newspapers, and general interest magazines. Click on Databases (4) to select specific databases or subject areas to search within.
How to use

U.S. Hispanic Newsstream
"Leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English"

CLA - Chicano/Latino Studies: Find Articles and Web Sites

When Should I Use a Database?

Web Sites

Use Databases to Find Articles