Skip to Main Content

Principles of Biology: Research Tools

Recommended Article Databases

Library databases that are especially helpful for Biology and Life Sciences topics are listed below. Example searches with explanations of search techniques are included. These are just examples. You may use different keyword terms and search techniques for your specific research topic.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of journal articles and images. Current articles are not available in JSTOR. Chemeketa subscribes to Arts & Sciences I and Arts & Sciences III collections for a total of about 400 journals.
JSTOR is providing free access to additional collections until June 30, 2023.

JSTOR Advanced Search Techniques
Includes tips on using Boolean operators to improve your searches. Tip: AND, OR, and NOT are capitalized when used as Boolean operators in JSTOR. For example: slugs NOT sea.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles from the health, life, social, and behavioral sciences.
Access limited to journals in the Health & Life Sciences and the Social & Behavioral Sciences collections.

Boolean operators in Science Direct are AND, OR, and AND NOT. For example: slugs AND NOT soybeans.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Includes articles in academic journals, newspapers, and general interest magazines. Click on Databases (4) to select specific databases or subject areas to search within.
How to use

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles from thousands of magazines, newspapers, and peer-reviewed journals. Includes the New York Times newspaper as far back as 1985.
How to Use

Journals Search

What's a Library Database? - Video

This video briefly and clearly explains what a journal article is and why we use library databases to find journal articles on a topic.

Getting Reference Help

E-mail a Question to Reference
Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
Chat reference: Please use the form below
We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Salem, Oregon

503.399.2546