This section is intended to supplement the instructional handouts listing articles with varying positions on population growth. Many of the materials in this list appear on the BI131 class handout.
The following articles are available electronically on the library's databases, or in print at the Chemeketa library, or both. If you are on a computer connected to Chemeketa's network, clicking on a highlighted title will take you directly to the article.
If you are viewing this page on a computer not connected to Chemeketa's network, you will be prompted to enter your My Chemeketa username and password to access the article.
Abernethy, V. (1994, December). Optimism and overpopulation. Atlantic Monthly, 274, 84 (5 p.). Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile.
Abernethy, V. (2004, September/October). Not tonight, sweetie; no energy. World Watch, 17, 26-30. Retrieved November 28, 2005, from General OneFile database. N.B. This article is listed under the title, "Population and its discontents," in the BI131 handout.
Apocalypse not. (2005, March). Geographical, 77, 52-53. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database
Ayres, R. (2004, September/October). The economic conundrum of an aging population. World Watch, 17, 45-49. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General Onefile. N.B. This article is listed under the title, "Population and its discontents" in the BI131 handout.
Baird, V. (2010, January-February). Too many people? New
Internationalist, 429, 4-8. 429, 4-8. Retrieved from Academic
OneFile database as two files: Part 1 and Part 2
Barrett, G.W. & Odum, E.P. (2000). The twenty-first century: The world at carrying capacity. Bioscience, 50, 363 (6 p.). Retrieved November 28, 2005, from General OneFile.
Bauer, P. T. (1998, Summer). Population growth: Disaster or blessing? Independent Review, 3, 67 (10 p.). Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile.
Becker, G.S., Glasier, E.L., & Murphy, K.M. (1999, May). Population and economic growth. American Economic Review, 89, 145 (5 p.). Retrieved July 26, 2012, from JSTOR database
Berreby, D. (1990, April). The numbers game. Discover 11, 42 (6 p.).
Bloom, D. (2006, September). Booms, busts, and echoes: how the biggest demographic upheaval in history is affecting global development. Finance & Development 43, 8-13.
Bloom, D.E. (2011). 7 billion and counting. Science, 333, 562-569 doi:10.1126/science.1209290
Bongaarts, J. (1998). Demographic consequences of declining fertility. Science 282, 419, (2 p.) Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database.
Bongaarts, J. (2009). Human population growth and the demographic transition. Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society B: Biological Sciences 364, 2985–2990. DOI:10.1098/rstb.2009.0137
Bricker, D., & Ibbitson, J. (2019, Jan 29). What goes up: Are predictions of a population crisis wrong? The Observer. Retrieved from ProQuest Central
Bryant, J. (2007). Theories of fertility decline and the evidence from development indicators. Population and Development Review, 33, 101-127. Retrieved July 25, 2012, from JSTOR.
Cervellati, M. & Sunde, U. (2005). Human capital formation, life expectancy, and the process of development. American Economic Review 95, 1653-1672. Retrieved July 26, 2012, from JSTOR database
Cohen, J.E. (1996, April). Ten myths of population. Discover 17, 42. (5 p.).
Cohen, J.E. (2003). Human population: The next half century. Science 302, 1172-1175. Retrieved November 28, 2005, from General OneFile database.
Cohen, J.E. (2006, June). Why have children?. Commentary 121, 44-49. Retrieved August 12, 2019, from ProQuest Central
Corcoran, T. (2019, Feb 13). Population bomb or bust? National Post. Retrieved from https://chemeketa.idm.oclc.org/login?url =https://explore.proquest.com/sirsissuesresearcher/document /2265579856?accountid=136425
Does population matter? (2002, December 7). Does population matter? Economist 365, 74.
Easterbrook, G. (1999, October 11). Reproductivity. New Republic 221, 22.
Eberstadt, N. (2019, July-August). With great demographics comes great power: Why population will drive geopolitics. Foreign Affairs, 98
Eberstadt, N. (2010, November-December). The demographic future: what population growth--and decline--means for the global economy Foreign Affairs 89, p. 54.
Eberstadt, N. (2006, Winter). Doom and demography. Wilson Quarterly, 30, 27-31.
Eberstadt, N. (2005, Spring). Rethinking the population problem. Public Interest, Issue 159, 139-151. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database.
Eberstadt, N. (2000, December). We've Lots of Room for People. American Enterprise 11, 48 (2 p.). Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database.
Ellis, E. C., Kaplan, J. O., Fuller, D. Q., Vavrus, S., Goldewijk,
K. K., & Verburg, P. H. (2013). Used planet: A global
history. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences,
110, 7978-7985.
Falling fertility. (2009, October 31). The Economist, 393, 15.
Feeney, G. (1994, December 2). Fertility decline in East Asia. Science, 266, 1518 (6 p.). Retrieved November 9, 2009 from General OneFile database.
Fletcher, R., Breitling, J., & Puleo, V. (2014). Barbarian hordes: the overpopulation scapegoat in international development discourse. Third World Quarterly, 35, 1195– 1215, doi: 10.1080/01436597.2014.926110
Galor, O. & Weil, D.N. (1999). From Malthusian stagnation to modern growth. American Economic Review, 89, 150-4. Retrieved July 26, 2012, from JSTOR database
Galor, O. & Weil, D.N. (September 2000). Population, technology, and growth: From Malthusian stagnation to the demographic transition and beyond. American Economic Review, 90, 806-828 Retrieved July 26, 2012, from JSTOR database.
Goldman, D.P. (2013). Pregnant pause. Claremont Review of Books. 13 (2), 64-68. Retrieved from http://www.claremont.org /publications/crb/
Greenwood, J. & Seshadri, A. (2002). The U.S. demographic transition. American Economic Review 92, 153-159. Retrieved July 26, 2012, from JSTOR database
Hansen, G.D., & Prescott, E.C. (2002). Malthus to Solow. American Economic Review, 92, 1205-1217. Retrieved July 26, 2012, from JSTOR database
Henschen, J. (2014, September). Our human capital disaster. Investment Advisor, 34(9), 48-52. Retrieved from http://www.investmentadvisor.com
Horiuchi, S. (1992). Stagnation in the decline of the world population growth rate during the 1980s. Science 257, 761 (5 p.).
Hyde, H. A. (1997, June). Slow death in the Great Plains. Atlantic Monthly, 279, 42 (3 p.). October 28, 2005, from General OneFile database
James, K.S. (2011). India's demographic change: Opportunities and challenges. Science, 333, 576-580. doi: 10.1126/science.1207969
Kain, E. (2011, October 25). Why pro-immigration and pro-growth policies are good for America. [Web log post]. Retrieved from http://www.forbes.com/sites/erikkain/2011/10/25/why-pro -immigration-and-pro-growth-policies-are-good-for-america/
Kotkin, J., & Siegel, H. (2013, February 15). Where have all the babies gone? Newsweek, 161, 1.
Kramer, S. P. (2012). Baby gap: how to boost birthrates and avoid demographic decline. Foreign Affairs, 91, 2.
Lambert, T. (1995, January). What they missed in Cairo: Defusing the population bomb. USA Today Magazine 123, 33.(3 p.) Retrieved November 21, 2000, from General OneFile database
Landsburg, S. E. (1995, May 22). The more, the merrier. Forbes 155, 166.
Lee, R. (2011). The outlook for population growth. Science, 333, 569- 573. doi: 10.1126/science.1208859
Lee, R. & Mason, A. (2006, September). What is the demographic dividend? Finance & Development 43, 16-17
Last, J.W. (2012, November 14) Come on in, the Earth Is Fine; With its 7 billionth person stunt, the U.N. boosts the overpopulation hysteria. The Weekly Standard 17. Retrieved July 26, 2012, from General OneFile
Levine, D.K.. & Modica, S. (2013). Anti-Malthus: Conflict and the evolution of societies. Research in Economics, 67, 289–306. Retrieved from http://www.elsevier.com/locate/rie
Lomborg, B. (2002, December 21). How healthy is the world? [Electronic version] BMJ: British Medical Journal 32, 1461-1466. Retrieved from PubMed Central.
Longman, P. (2004, May 31). Everywhere, even in Africa, the world is running out of children. New Statesman, 133, 27-29. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database
Longman, P. (2004, May). The Global Baby Bust. Foreign Affairs, 83, 64 (16 p.). Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database.
Longman, P. (2004, April 19). Which nations will go forth and multiply?
Fortune 149, 60 (2 p.). Retrieved November 9, 2009, from Academic
OneFile database.
Malakoff, D. (2011). Are more people necessarily a problem? Science 333, 569-573. doi: 10.1126/science.333.6042.544
Mandel, M. (2004, September 13). Productivity trumps demographics.
Business Week Online. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from
http://www.businessweek.com/bwdaily/dnflash/sep2004/
nf20040913_4396_db084.htm
McKibben, B. (1998, May). A special moment in history. Atlantic Monthly, 281, 55. Retrieved November 28, 2005, from General OneFile database.
McKibben, B. (1999, November/December). Taking the pulse of the planet. Audubon 101, 104-110.
McNeil Jr., Donald G. (2004, August 29). Demographic 'Bomb' May Only Go 'Pop!'. New York Times 153, Section 4, p. 1. Retrieved from ProQuest Central database.
Meyer, P.S. & Ausubel, J.H. (1999). Carrying capacity: A model with logistically varying limits. Technological Forecasting and Social Change, 61, 209-214. Retrieved from http://www.journals.elsevier.com/technological-forecasting -and-social-change/
Moffett, G. (1994, Summer). The population question revisited. Wilson Quarterly 18, 54 (24 p.) Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database.
Moore, S. (1998, March 9). Julian Simon, RIP. National Review 50, 22. (2 p.). Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database.
Moore, S. (1999, October 25). Body Count. National Review 51, 45 (5 p.). Retrieved November 22, 2000, from General Onefile database.
Moore, S. (2003, August). Julian the Great. American Spectator 36, 53 (3 p.). Retrieved September 18, 2019, from Proquest Central database
Mulligan, C.B. (2009, September 23). The more, the merrier: Population growth promotes innovation. [Web log post]. Retrieved from http://economix.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/09/23/ the-more-the-merrier-population-growth-promotes-innovation/?_r=0
Nierenberg, D. (2004, September/October). The population story ... so far. World Watch 17, 14-17. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database. N.B. This is listed under the title, "Population and its discontents" in the BI131 handout.
Olshansky, S. J. & Carnes, B. A. (1993, April). The aging of the human
species. Scientific American 268, 46 (7 p.).
Paarlberg, R. (2008, June 27). The real food crisis. Chronicle of Higher Education 54, 12. Retrieved July 25, 2012, from General Onefile.
Pearce, F. (1999, December). Counting Down. World Press Review 46,
13 (2 p.).
Pearce, F. (2012, February). Point of view. Geographical, 84, 76. Retrieved from Academic OneFile database
Peng, X. (2011). China's demographic history and future challenges.
Science, 333, 581-587. doi:10.1126/science.1209396
Piel, G. (1994, March 21). Defusing the 'Population Bomb.' Nation 258, 376-380. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General Onefile.
The population panic. (2010, January). New Internationalist 429, 5-8. Retrieved July 26, 2012, from General Onefile
Population Problem Exaggerated, Critics Say. (2003, June 20). Issues & Controversies On File [In Are efforts to reduce global population growth necessary?]. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from Issues & Controversies@FACTS.com.
Riche, M. (2004, September/October). Low fertility and sustainability. World Watch 17, 45-49. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database. N.B. This is listed under the title, "Population and its discontents" in the BI131 handout.
Robey, B. & Rutstein, S. O. (1993, December). The fertility decline in
developing countries. Scientific American 269, 60, (8 p.).
Roney, S. (2001, December 17). Why (apart from self-interest) does the UN cry alarm about 'overpopulation'?. Report/Newsmagazine 28 (Natl. Edition), 46. Retrieved September 29, 2004, from General OneFile database.
Rubenstein, E. (1990, December 17). The more the merrier. National
Review, 14. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile
database.
Sharma, R. (2016, March-April). The demographics of stagnation: Why people matter for economic growth Foreign Affairs, 95 (2), 18. Retrieved from http://www.foreignaffairs.org
Simon, J. (1994, April). More people, greater wealth, more resources,
healthier environment. <cite>Economic Affairs</cite>, (Article 3.
While not available in its journal form, Simon's manuscript is
available at: http://www.juliansimon.org/writings/Articles/
POPENVI2.txt.
Articles by Julian Simon on the Julian Simon site at http://www.juliansimon.org/writings/Articles/.
Simon, J. (1995, December 24). Population growth is our greatest
triumph. Popular University (4 p.)
This is available in the form of Simon's manuscript at
http://www.juliansimon.org/writings/Articles/POPUNENV.txt
Simon, J. L (1997, March/April). The global environment: megaproblem or not?. Futurist, 31, 17 (2 p.) Retrieved November 21, 2000, from General OneFile database
Singer, M. (1999, August). The population surprise. Atlantic Monthly, 284 22 (3 p.). Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database
The following three articles are listed under the single title: "Are people the problem?" in the reading list:
Stafford, T. (1994, October 3). The bet. Christianity Today 38, 46-52. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database.
Stafford, T. (1994, October 3). India: A success story. Christianity Today 38, 53-55. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database
Stafford, T. (1994, October 3). Thus saith the Lord. Christianity Today 38, 56-60.Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database
Teitelbaum, M.S., Winter, J., & Longman, P. (2004, September).
Demography is not destiny. Foreign Affairs, 83, 152-154.
Trends Halting Population Growth. (2004, September). Futurist, 38, 15 (2 p.). Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database.
The truth about the environment. (2001, August 4). Economist, 360. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database.
Wattenberg, B. (2005, January/February). Never mind the population explosion. American Enterprise, 16, 28-31. Retrieved September 2, 2015, from Gale Academic OneFile database.
Attenborough, D. (2011, April 25). This heaving planet: half a century ago, the WWF was formed to help save endangered animals. Today, it's human beings who are increasingly at risk, through overpopulation and food scarcity. Someone needs to say the unsayable. New Statesman [1996], 140(5050), 28+. Retrieved July 30, 2012, from General OneFile database
Barrett, G.W. & Odum, E.P. (2000). The twenty-first century: The world at carrying capacity. Bioscience 50, 363 (6 p.). Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database.
Bender, W.H. (1997, March). How much food will we need in the 21st century? Environment 39, 7-28. Retrieved November f9, 2009, from Genral OneFile database.
Berg, Joel. (2012, April). Overpopulation: extending life by 20 or even 30 years: we already face a graying population. Risk & Insurance 23, 54-55. Retrieved July 30, 2012, from General OneFile
Berreby, D. (1990, April). The numbers game. Discover 11, 42 (6 p.).
Bloom, D.E. (2011). 7 billion and counting. Science, 333, 562-569 doi:10.1126/science.1209290
Bongaarts, J. (1994, March). Can the growing human population feed
itself? Scientific American 270, 36-42.
Bongaarts, J. (1994). Population policy options in the developing world. Science 263, 771-77. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database.
Bongaarts, J. (1998). Demographic consequences of declining fertility. Science 282, 419 (2 p.) Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database.
Bongaarts, J. (2002, January). Population: Ignoring its impact.
Scientific American 286, 67. (3 p.)
Brown, L. (1994, November-December). Running out of loaves and fishes. Humanist, 54, 30. Retrieved from http://www.americanhumanist.org/
Brown, L.R., Gardner, G. & B. Halwell. (1999, February). 16 impacts of population growth. Futurist 33, 36 (7 p.). Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database.
Budiansky, S. (1994, September 12). 10 billion for dinner, please. U.S.
News & World Report 117, 57 (4 p.). This article appeared under
the description, "Budiansky, S., et al. 1994. Population
wars" in the BI131 handout.
Butler, C.D. (2004). Human carrying capacity and human health. PLoS Medicine 1, e55. Retrieved December 1, 2005, from http://dx.doi.org/10.1371/journal.pmed.0010055
Carpenter, B. & Watson, T. (1994, September 12). More people, more pollution. U.S. News & World Report 117, 63 (3 p.). Retrieved from http://www.usnews.com. N.B. This article appeared under the description, "Budiansky, S., et al. 1994. Population wars" in the BI131 handout.
Chamie, Joseph. 2, 4, 8 and ? Billion People InterPress News Service, 2019. SIRS Issues Researcher, https://explore.proquest.com /sirsissuesresearcher/document/2265815401?accountid=136425
Cohen, J.E. (1992, November). How many people can earth hold? Discover 13, 114-119. Retrieved from ProQuest Central
Cohen, J.E. (1995). Population growth and earth's human carrying
capacity. Science 269, 341-345.
Retrieved from http://www.sciencemag.org
Cohen, J.E. (1996, April). Ten myths of population.
Discover 17, 42. (5 p.).
Cohen, J.E. (2003). Human population: The next half century. Science 302, 1172-1175. Retrieved from http://www.sciencemag.org
Daily, G. et al. (1998). Food production, population growth, and the environment. Science 281, 1291-1292. Retrieved from http://www.sciencemag.org
Daily, G.C. & Ehrlich, P. (1992). Population, sustainability and the Earth's carrying capacity. Bioscience 42, 761 (11 p.). Retrieved November 29, 2005, from General OneFile database.
Day, L.H. (2004, September/October). The positive side of the older populations To come. World Watch 17, 55-57. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database. N.B. This is listed under the title, "Population and its discontents" in the BI131 handout.
Ehrlich, A. (1985, July/August). Critical masses. Humanist 45, 18-36.
Ehrlich, P.R. (2003, April). Get off the train and walk. Conservation
Biology 17, 352 (2 p.).
Ehrlich, P. and Ehrlich, A. (1997). Ehrlich's fables. Technology Review 100, 38-47. Retrieved November 9, 2009, from General OneFile database.
Ehrlich, P. & Ehrlich, A. (1997). The population explosion: Why we should care and what we should do about it. Environmental Law 27, 1187-1208. Retrieved September 19, 2019, from Gale Academic OneFile
Ehrlich, P.R. and Ehrlich, A. (2006, September 30). Enough already. New Scientist 191, 46-50. Retrieved September 19 2019, from ScienceDirect database.
Fornos, W. (1998, July/August). No vacancy. Humanist 58, 15-18. Retrieved November 29, 2005, from Academic OneFile database.
Gillis, C., & Lunau, K. (2011, June 20). A world of 10 billion: mass extinctions, water shortages, dwindling oil reserves, grinding poverty. Can the Earth sustain every one of us? Maclean's, 124, 60+. Retrieved July 30, 2012, from General OneFile
Gray, R., & Milne, M. J. (2018). Perhaps the dodo should have accounted for human beings? accounts of humanity and (its) extinction. Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal, 31(3), 826-848. doi: 10.1108/AAAJ-03-2016-2483
Hinrichsen, D. (1999, September/October). 6,000,000,000 consumption machines. International Wildlife 29, 22 (8 p.). Retrieved from http://www.nwf.org/nwf/lib/iw/index.html
Hinrichsen, D. (1994, September/October). Putting the bite on planet earth. International Wildlife 24, 36-45. Retrieved November 12, 2009, from Environmental Studies & Policy Collection.
Hinrichsen, D. (1999, September/October). 6,000,000,000 consumption machines. International Wildlife 29, 22 (8 p.). Retrieved November 12, 2009, from Environmental Studies & Policy Collection.
James, K.S. (2011). India's demographic change: Opportunities and challenges. Science, 333, 576-580. doi: 10.1126/science.1207969
Jha, S. & Bawa, K.S. (2006). Population growth, human development,
and deforestation in biodiversity hotspots. Conservation
Biology 20, 906-912.
Kates, R.W. (1994, October). Sustaining life on earth. Scientific
American 271, 114-121.
Keenan, M., (2013). Too much of a good thing: how overpopulation, overconsumption, and failing distributive justice programs are imperiling mankind. Villanova Environmental Law Journal, 24, 59-95. Retrieved from http://www1.villanova.edu/content/villanova/law /academics/journals/velj.html
Keyfitz, N. (1989, September). The growing human population. Scientific
American 261, 119-126.
King, M. & Elliott, C. (1997). To the point of farce: a Martian view of the Hardinian taboo--the silence that surrounds population control. BMJ 315, 1441-1443. Retrieved December 2, 2005, from http://www.bmj.com/
Kissling, F., Musinguzi, J., & Singer, P. (2018, Jun 19). We must talk about overpopulation. Washington Post. Retrieved from SIRS Issues Researcher
Kocsis, T. (2018). Finite earth, infinite ambitions: Social futuring and sustainability as seen by a social scientist. Society and Economy, 40, 111-142. doi: 10.1556/204.2018.40.S1.6.
Kopnina, H., & Washington, H. (2016). Discussing why population growth is still ignored or denied. Chinese Journal of Population Resources and Environment, 14(2), 133-143. doi: 10.1080/10042857.2016.1149296
Lee, R. (2011). The outlook for population growth. Science, 333, 569 -573. doi: 10.1126/science.1208859
Linden, E. (1992, Fall). Too many people Time 140, 64-65.
Loefler, I. (2003). The population trap. BMJ 326, 507. Retrieved November 22, 2005, from http://www.bmj.com/cgi/content/full/326/7387/507
Lutz, W., & Samir, K.C. (2011). Global human capital: Integrating education and population. Science, 333, 587-592. doi: 10.1126/science.1206964
Lynas, M. (2004, February 23). The biomass of human bodies now exceeds by a hundred times that of any large animal species that ever existed on land. New Statesman 133), 23-25. Retrieved November 12, 2009, from Academic OneFile database.
McDaniel, C. (2003). Elephant in the room. Conservation Biology 17,
954-956.
MacFarquhar, E. (1994, September 12). Population wars. U.S. News &
World Report 117, 54 (4 p). Retrieved November 12, 2009, from
Academic OneFile database. N.B. This article appeared under the
description, "Budiansky, S., et al. 1994. Population wars" in the
BI131 handout.
MacKenzie, D. (1994, September). Will tomorrow's children starve? New
Scientist 143, 24-29.
McKibben, B. (1999, November/December). Taking the pulse of the planet. Audubon 101, 104-110.
McMichael, A. (2002). Population, environment, disease, and survival: Past patterns, and uncertain futures. Lancet 359, 1145-1149. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(02)08164-3
McNicoll, G. (1998). Malthus for the twenty-first century. Population and Development Review 24, 309-316. Retrieved from JSTOR database
Mann, C. (1993, February). How many is too many?. Atlantic Monthly 271, 47-60. Retrieved November 12, 2009, from Proquest Central.
Mastny, L. (2004, September/October). The hazards of youth. World Watch 17, 18-21. Retrieved November 12, 2009, from General OneFile. N.B. This is listed under the title, "Population and its discontents" in the BI131 handout.
Mitchell, J. (1998, January/February). Before the next doubling. WorldWatch 11, 20-29.
Morrison, R. (2013, April 23). The population debate: How many is too many?. [Web log post]. Retrieved from http://regmorrison.edublogs.org/files/2013/04/ Population-4b-13rrmif.pdf
Motavalli, J. (1996, November/December). Contents under pressure. E Magazine 7, 28-37.Retrieved November 12, 2009, from General OneFiledatabase.
Nicholson-Lord, D. (2006, November). The numbers game. Ecologist 36, 22-24.
Nierenberg, D. (2004, September/October). The population story … so far. World Watch 17, 14-17. Retrieved November 12, 2009, from ProQuest Central database. N.B. This is listed under the title, "Population and its discontents" in the BI131 handout.
Normile, D. (2011). The upside of downsizing. Science, 333, 547. Retrieved from http://www.sciencemag.org
Patel, Z. (2012, July 14). Overpopulation: Curse or bonus? Business Recorder Retrieved from http://www.brecorder.com
Peng, X. (2011). China's demographic history and future challenges. Science, 333, 581-587. doi:10.1126/science.1209396
Peters, G. (2011). World population, 1970-2009: a perspective on nearly four decades of growth. Yearbook of the Association of Pacific Coast Geographers, 73, 112-132. Retrieved July 30, 2102 from General OneFile
Pimentel, D. & Wilson, A. (2004, September/October). World population, agriculture, and malnutrition. World Watch 17, 22-25. Retrieved November 12, 2009, from ProQuest Central database. N.B. This is listed under the title, "Population and its discontents" in the BI131 handout.
Postel, S. (1994, March-April). Carry capacity: Earth's bottom line. Challenge, 37, 4-12. Retrieved from http://www.challengemagazine.com/
Prosterman, R.L., Hanstad, T. & Ping, L. (1996, November). Can China
feed itself? Scientific American 275, 90-96.
Prugh, T. (2009, September-October). Less stuff, or more blood: The world's rich people must decide whether they want to share the planet's resources, or send their children to kill and die for them. World Watch, 22, 30-36. Retrieved November 12, 2009, from General OneFile database
Raloff, J. (1996, June 22). The human numbers crunch. Science News 149, 396-397. Retrieved November 12, 2009, from Student Resources in Context database.
Rich, D. & Mark, J. (2009, Summer). Hold steady. Earth Island Journal, 24, 40-43. Retrieved November 12, 2009, from General OneFile database.
Roush, W. (1994). Population: The view from Cairo. Science 265, 1164-1167. Retrieved November 12, 2009, from Academic OneFile database
Sadik, N. (1991, March/April). World population continues to rise. Futurist 25, 9-14. Retrieved November 12, 2009, from ProQuest Central
Sai, F.T. (2004, September/October). Population, family planning, and the future of Africa. World Watch 17, 34-37. Retrieved November 12, 2009, from ProQuest Central database N.B. This is listed under the title, "Population and its discontents" in the BI131 handout.
Seager, J., Lind, M., & Parker, J. (2009, August 21). Too many people: This house believes the world would be better off with fewer people. [Web log post]. Retrieved from http://www.economist.com/debate/days/view/364
Six Billion and Counting. (2004, December). Canada & the World Backgrounder 70, 4-6. Retrieved November 12, 2009, from ProQuest Central.
Smail, J.K. (2004, September/October). Global population reduction: confronting the inevitable. World Watch 17, 58-59. Retrieved November 12, 2009, from ProQuest Central database N.B. This is listed under the title, "Population and its discontents" in the BI131 handout.
Smith, C. 1995. Assessing the limits to growth. Bioscience 45, 478-483. Retrieved from academic.oup.com/bioscience/article-abstract/ 45/7/478/267458#.XVSikE_H8RM.gmail
Stephenson, J., Crane, S.F, Levy, C., Maslin, M.
(2013). Population, development, and climate
change: Links and effects on human health. The
Lancet, 382, 1665-1673.
Toth, G. & Szigeti, C. (2016). The historical ecological footprint: From over-population to over-consumption. Ecological Indicators, 60, 283-291. doi: 10.1016/j.ecolind.2015.06.040
Tuljapurkar, S. (2009). Babies make a comeback: the population of some wealthy countries is shrinking because of a declining birth rate. It comes as a surprise, and one with policy implications, that after a certain point of development that trend can reverse. Nature, 460, 693-694. Retrieved from ProQuest Central database
Vitousek, P.M., Mooney, H.A. (1997). Human domination of Earth's ecosystems.Science 277, 494-499. Retrieved from ProQuest Central database
Welch, B. (2011, December). Unplugging our economic Ponzi scheme: if the human species hopes to continue thriving, we have to embrace a new model that doesn't rely on population growth. Mother Earth News 249. 105-106, 113. Retrieved July 30, 2012, from ProQuest Central database