LibraryGuides: Geography: Find Articles & Web Pages

Use Databases to Find Articles

There are geography-related journals in many databases. A good way to start looking for articles is by using the Gale PowerSearch or ProQuest Central.

To search in National Geographic magazine from 1888 to the present, visit the National Geographic Virtual Library.

Getting Reference Help

E-mail a Question to Reference
Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
Chat reference: Please use the form below
We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.

Custom Web Search

Try our customized search, or browse the list of sites below. Note that some of the sources, such as the Geographic Names Information System, have to be searched individually.

Customized Search

Web Sites

CIA World Fact Book
Descriptions & facts about countries of the world
Digital Public Library Geography and Maps
The geographical collection of America's national digital library, with over 16,000 items.
U.S. Board on Geographic Names
The Board is intended to foster uniform use of geographic names in the federal government. Click Domestic Names for access to the Geographic Names Information System (GNIS), which gives information on United States geographic names of all kinds. Results give coordinates, elevation, and other info, along with links to topographic map servers. The Foreign Names button leads the user to the GEOnet Names Server for geographic names outside the United States.
Harvard Map Collection
A Harvard University site with geospatial data, images from the University's large map collection, and more.
more...less...
See also the shelflist at https://listview.lib.harvard.edu/lists/hollis-013396766
How Far Is It? (Distance)
Distance engine. Enter the names of two places, and the computer will respond with the distance between them in kilometers or miles.
INCORE Country Guides
Provides scholarly and news information on ethnic conflicts in Algeria, Angola, Burundi, Côte d'Ivoire, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Liberia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Democratic Republic of Congo, Northern Ireland, Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Serbia-Montenegro, Russia, Chechnya, Israel/Palestine, Iraq, Turkey, Kurdistan, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, India, Pakistan, Kashmir, Sindh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Indonesia, East Timor, Myanmar (Burma), Colombia. (Others may be added.) Each country's guide includes an annotated list leading to virtual libraries, topical Web sites and reports, news sources, maps, and relevant research articles.
LatLong
"Latlong.net is an online geographic tool that can be used to lookup latitude and longitude of a place, and get its coordinates on map"
Library of Congress: Country Studies
Authoritative books by multidisciplinary teams of social scientists published by the Library of Congress Federal Research Division.
National Geographic
Search National Geographic's rich site.
The National Map
U.S. Geological Survey source for maps of all kinds, including topographic
Organization of American States (OAS)
Information about OAS as well as its member states. Topics include: development; democracy; human rights; trade; environment; education; drugs; corruption; poverty; land mines. Accessible in both English and Spanish (con conexión a la página principal de la Organización de los Estados Americanos en Español. Temas incluyen desarrollo integral; democracía; derechos humanos; comercio; medio ambiente; educacíon; drogas; corrupción; pobreza; desminado).
United Nations Home Page
Contains search engine for UN press releases, General Assembly documents, Security Council Resolutions, etc. Database subjects include treaties, relief, land mines, statistics & indicators, etc. To find agencies of the UN, most with their own search engines, click on "About Us, UN System." Con conexión a la página principal de las Naciones Unidas en Español.
USA: 50 States & Capitals
Information on every state, including state symbols, flags, and songs.