LibraryGuides: Chemistry: Find Articles & Web Sites

Using Databases to Look for Journal Articles

All the electronic databases listed in this section may be accessed by going to the library's Database Page. If you are using databases from off campus, you will need your My Chemeketa user name and password.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Index to approximately 10,000 periodicals covering a wide variety of subject areas, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles. Many are in full text.
American Chemical Society - Selected Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text access to web editions of C&EN Global Enterprise and Journal of Chemical Education from 1996 through current issues.
Business Insights This link opens in a new window
May seem a surprising place to find articles on chemistry, but there are many articles on chemistry as applied science.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
A database on green technology and the environment
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Includes articles in academic journals, newspapers, and general interest magazines. Click on Databases (4) to select specific databases or subject areas to search within.
How to use
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Over 900 full-text, academic journals in the health and life sciences. Journals available in the collection are shown with a green icon and text "You are entitled to access the full text of this document."
Access limited to journals in the Health & Life Sciences and the Social & Behavioral Sciences collections.

* TOXLINE *
TOXLINE articles have been integrated into PubMed in a Toxicology Subset. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, dissertations, and other material pertaining to toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals.. Other specialized toxicological databases such as DART/ETIC (Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center) and GENE-TOX (Genetic Toxicology-Mutagenicity) are available from this interface. A National Library of Medicine database.

Web Sites

Emergency Response Guidebook
"The Emergency Response Guidebook ... was developed jointly by the US Department of Transportation, Transport Canada, and the Secretariat of Communications and Transportation of Mexico (SCT) for use by firefighters, police, and other emergency services personnel who may be the first to arrive at the scene of a transportation incident involving a hazardous material. It is primarily a guide to aid first responders in (1) quickly identifying the specific or generic classification of the material(s) involved in the incident, and (2) protecting themselves and the general public during this initial response phase of the incident. The ERG is updated every three to four years to accommodate new products and technology.
MatWeb
Searchable and browsable database of properties of materials.
NIST Chemistry Web Book
"Provides users with easy access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the internet. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST [National Institute of Standards and Technology] Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Data in the WebBook system are organized by chemical species."
The Periodic Table on the WWW
Gives you not only the periodic table of elements, but information about each element, including chemical and physical properties, pictures of the crystal structure (may require plug-ins for some graphics), and history.
PubChem
"PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively."
Where to Find Safety Data Sheets
This site gives you links to at least sixty different places on the Internet where you can access Safety Data Sheet (MSDS)without cost.

Search chemistry sites with our customized search tool:

Getting Reference Help

E-mail a Question to Reference
Phone Reference at 503.399.5231
Chat reference: Please use the form below
We recommend that you include an e-mail address so that you can receive a transcript of your chat and so the library can send you any followup help.